Getting to know you/

15 weeks

IMG_0196

As the weeks go speedily by, I’m getting to know you. You’re getting to know me. And you’re get to know yourself. What you don’t like (lying down, being strapped in, big noises and shouty cousins – your bottom lip curls at every one), where your hands are (mostly in your mouth) and what makes you giggle (proper chuckles now, especially when I rub your belly or fly you above my head). It’s all starting to come together.

Your smile is still your default. I catch your gaze from the corner of my eye and your little face lights up. In the mornings from 6am, I listen, half conscious as you patiently babble and coo to yourself for near on an hour (although these past weeks you haven’t talked so much). Eventually, as I wake up though and you start to sound impatient, I peek over your crib to be met with the sweetest greeting. A far cry from the morning gloom before you came along. Mondays are now okay.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

It’s such a pleasure to spend each day with you and witness your sunny soul emerging. Sometimes you are cranky; life can be frustrating. I’m sure you are beginning to teethe as you like to chew on your fingers most of the time as well as mine given the chance.

You are so strong. Put on your tummy, you can play happily with toys in front of you, your head held up high. You haven’t mastered rolling from your back yet but you’re getting there. When I hold your hands, you’ll push off with your legs and pull yourself up to standing from lying on my lap. You make me so proud, tiny person.

IMG_0312 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I wish I could collect the cool mochi softness of your cheeks and chubby legs, with the smell of your warm feathery head as it rests against my neck. Don’t get me started on your breath (!). I am all consumed by you, a little stranger who I know better than anyone.

Your daddy feels the same; if only we could hang out all day, the three of us. I’m so bloody lucky to be by your side as you change. I will be there as much as I can, little Sammy. With your Papa, we will make up jokes, we’ll colour, we’ll skate and we’ll discover seasons. We’re going to have so much fun.

Just don’t grow too fast.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Getting to know you/

Leave a Reply

